ACCEPTING APPLICATIONS · GRANT
NIGMS Institutional Biomedical Undergraduate Research Training (BURT) Program (T34)
- Deadline
- Sep 25, 2028 (701 days left)
- Who can apply
- Private colleges and universities
- Award range
- Not stated
- Expected awards
- Not stated
- Total program funding
- Not stated
- Your own money required
- No cost sharing or matching required
- Opportunity number
- PAR-26-033
- Posted
- Dec 29, 2025
- Assistance listing
- 93.859
More on who can apply
Refer to Section III. Eligibility Information in the NOFO for additional information on eligibility. Applicant organizations must (1) enroll undergraduates and (2) have received NIH Research Project Grant (RPG) funding averaging less than $50 million in total costs (direct and F&A/indirect) per year over the last three fiscal years (FY). RPG data are available through NIH RePORTER. For example, applications submitted in FY2026 will use data from FY 2023, FY 2024 and FY 2025.All applications must include a baccalaureate degree-granting organization. The application must be submitted by the elig
What it funds
The goal of the Institutional Biomedical Undergraduate Research Training (BURT) program is to strengthen research training environments and develop a pool of well-trained students who:Complete their baccalaureate degrees in biomedically-related fields, andTransition into and complete biomedical, research-focused higher degree programs (such as Ph.D. or M.D./Ph.D.).Specifically, this funding announcement provides support to eligible, domestic organizations to develop and implement effective, evidence-informed approaches to biomedical undergraduate training and mentoring to help build a strong biomedical research workforce for the nation.Applicant organizations must enroll undergraduate students and have received NIH Research Project Grant (RPG) funding averaging less than $50 million in total costs (direct and F&A/indirect) per year over the last three fiscal years (FY). To promote undergraduate research training opportunities across a range of eligible organizations, the program will accept applications in two tracks:Single Site: To support trainees from a single baccalaureate-degree granting organization.Community College Partnerships: To support community college trainee development through strong collaborations between at least one associate-degree granting organization (that is, a community college) and at least one baccalaureate-degree granting organization.The proposed research training programs will incorporate didactic, research, and career development elements to prepare trainees for careers that will have a significant impact on the health-related research needs of the nation.
Open the official notice on Grants.gov ↗What to do next
- Open the official notice on Grants.gov and download the full announcement (the NOFO) and any attachments.
- Check you can apply: the eligible applicants above, and any detail in the notice's eligibility section.
- Register your organization in SAM.gov (choose "all awards") and create a Grants.gov account; allow several weeks the first time.
- Apply through Grants.gov exactly as the notice says, before Sep 25, 2028. Late applications are usually not accepted.
New to this? Applying for a federal grant, step by step · Register to apply · How to read the notice · Write the narrative · Build the budget · Agency contact: NIGMSBURTT34@nih.gov
From Grants.gov's official daily extract of Oct 25, 2026. The notice on Grants.gov and its attachments are what count. UX Contract is independent and not a government website.



