FORECAST · GRANT
Emergency Department Alternatives to Opioids Program
- Expected deadline
- Not stated
- Who can apply
- Others
- Award range
- Not stated
- Expected awards
- 9
- Total program funding
- Not stated
- Your own money required
- No cost sharing or matching required
- Opportunity number
- TI-27-005
- Posted
- Sep 3, 2026
- Assistance listing
- 93.490
More on who can apply
Eligibility is statutorily limited (per 42 U.S.C. 294i-1) to hospitals and emergency departments, including freestanding emergency departments and rural emergency hospitals. Per statutory language, priority consideration will be given to applicants who are not from the following states, where current grantees are located (i.e., Arkansas, California, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia), to ensure geographic distribution among grant recipients.
What it funds
The purpose of the program is to establish and implement practices which will help your organization develop alternatives to pharmacological opioid interventions, reduce the potential harmful consequences of opioid use for pain care in hospitals and emergency departments, thereby promoting safer pain treatment and reducing the risk of future opioid misuse and possible opioid overdose.
Open the official notice on Grants.gov ↗What to do next
- This is a forecast: the agency expects to post the full notice later. Open it on Grants.gov and subscribe there to be told when it posts.
- Get your SAM.gov registration ("all awards") and Grants.gov account active now; both take time.
- Use the forecast's award range and eligibility to decide whether to prepare.
- Watch for the notice; the dates here are estimates and can change.
New to this? Applying for a federal grant, step by step · Register to apply · How to read the notice · Write the narrative · Build the budget · Agency contact: Belinda.Greenfield@samhsa.hhs.gov
From Grants.gov's official daily extract of Oct 25, 2026. The notice on Grants.gov and its attachments are what count. UX Contract is independent and not a government website.