ACCEPTING APPLICATIONS · GRANT
BJA FY 2026 Capital Case Litigation Initiative: Improving the Quality of Legal Representation in State Capital Cases
Bureau of Justice Assistance · Law, Justice and Legal Services
- Deadline
- Oct 29, 2026 (5 days left)
- Who can apply
- Others
- Award range
- $0 to $450,000
- Expected awards
- Not stated
- Total program funding
- Not stated
- Your own money required
- No cost sharing or matching required
- Opportunity number
- O-BJA-2026-172715
- Posted
- Sep 21, 2026
- Assistance listing
- 16.746
More on who can apply
For purposes of this NOFO, “State government entities” means any state agency in states that authorize capital punishment and that conduct or will conduct prosecutions in which capital punishment is sought.
What it funds
This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 Capital Case Litigation Initiative: Improving the Quality of Legal Representation in State Capital Cases. This opportunity will enhance the ability of prosecutors to effectively represent the public in state capital cases and to improve the quality of legal representation for defense attorneys who represent indigent defendants in state capital cases. States must allocate funding equally among capital prosecution and capital representation.
Open the official notice on Grants.gov ↗What to do next
- Open the official notice on Grants.gov and download the full announcement (the NOFO) and any attachments.
- Check you can apply: the eligible applicants above, and any detail in the notice's eligibility section.
- Register your organization in SAM.gov (choose "all awards") and create a Grants.gov account; allow several weeks the first time.
- Apply through Grants.gov exactly as the notice says, before Oct 29, 2026. Late applications are usually not accepted.
New to this? Applying for a federal grant, step by step · Register to apply · How to read the notice · Write the narrative · Build the budget · Agency contact: OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
From Grants.gov's official daily extract of Oct 25, 2026. The notice on Grants.gov and its attachments are what count. UX Contract is independent and not a government website.